ON Tuesday this week, the Plymouth Argyle Education squad based in Cornwall departed for an overnight stay prior to our MK Dons fixture, and with just one position between the two sides in the table, we wanted to prepare fully for this encounter.

After a pit stop at Silverstone Race Course on the Wednesday morning the team arrived at the pitch refreshed and ready for the match.

The first 15 minutes were sloppy from both teams as possession was won and lost at frequent intervals. With 25 minutes on the clock, MK Dons produced the first moment of danger, with their centre-half rising to head a corner just over the bar.

Five minutes later and Sonny Dover could have opened the scoring, but dragged his shot wide from just inside the box. The deadlock was broken just before half-time and a swift counter-attack from the Argyle lads saw a Ben Gibbs shot parried by the ‘keeper and Cam Searle was on hand to knock in the rebound, great time to score.

The second half started with dominance from PAFC – Cornwall, Dawid Zarnowksi and Harrison Murrells instrumental in dictating the midfield.

The lead was extended with Sonny Dover capitalising on a parry again from a Ben Gibbs shot; 2-0 up with 55 minutes gone, not a position we have tasted this year. MK Dons changed formation and loaded the front line but the back four stood firm with keeper Callum Richards only forced in to one real save.

On the break we were a constant threat, the third goal arrived after a succession of chances had been created and it was a great delivery from a corner nodded back across goal by Lewis Clapham for his centre half partner Dylan Plenty to nod in. The control and game management from there was outstanding, with a comfortable last ten minutes.

At the full-time whistle, absolute scenes recording our first victory, thoroughly deserved and not for the lack of effort or commitment in other games, but this was our day.

Scorers: C. Searle, S. Dover, D. Plenty

Squad: C. Richards, L. Watts. L. Easley, D. Plenty, L. Clapham, C. Searle, S. Dover, W. MacMeikan, H. Murrells, D. Zarnowski, B. Gibbs, J. Rowe.

You may also like